Accessible Page Links

Page Tools

Main page Content

Smoking Bans


​From January 1 2015, smoking is banned at all Queensland State and Non-State Schools, and for 5 metres beyond their boundaries.  The law applies at all times- during and after school hours, on weekends and during school holidays.  It includes the use of all smoking products, including regular cigarettes and devices commonly known as electronic cigarettes.  The buffer is a 5 metre no-smoking area around the perimeter of the school, beyond the school land boundary; including all structures in this area, such as bus shelters and car parks.  This area does not extend into residential or business premises that share a boundary with school land.